Eight Years Later

1 Comment

The number eight. Laid on its side, it represents infinity. For us, it also represents the day we became a couple – October 8, 2004.

And today we are together eight years.

But, if I lay that number on its side…

I can remember the day like it was yesterday. I can remember (mostly) what was said and I can remember the hug afterwards (and every hug still feels as good as that one did).

In the beginning (you know, when no noxious gasses were emitted from our bodies and showers were a daily occurrence), we asked each other everything and told each other our life stories. Since then, we have shared laughter, tears, anger, disappointment, sorrow, and just about every other emotion a human being is capable of feeling. We learned about, and tried to figure out, each other and ourselves (to put it into perspective, if we were books, I’m “One Fish, Two Fish, Red Fish, Blue Fish” and she is “War and Peace”). We have built a foundation of trust and understanding that has helped get us to where we are today.

Eight years later, we no longer have to ask how we feel about each other (although, she still does for good measure and I try to divert because I’m a guy and I’m not supposed to be mushy…or something….). We just know. It’s evident in the things we do and say, corny or otherwise, and is represented in living form by our Son, Mason.

Eight years later, there are still no noxious gasses being emitted from her body and her showers are still a daily occurrence. Meanwhile, I pray that DEP doesn’t do any air testing near me and she does everything short of hog-tying me and dragging me to the shower.

Eight years later, she apparently still finds me to be something less than repulsive.

Eight years later, she has memorized One Fish, Two Fish, Red Fish, Blue Fish and I have memorized War and Peace.

And it’s the best book I’ve ever read.

I love you.

One thought on “Eight Years Later

Comment (E-Mail, Name, and Website not required)

